Why the Japanese Writing System Has 3 Different Sets of Characters

Yes, it’s true. Japanese has three completely separate sets of characters, called kanji, hiragana, and katakana, which are used in reading and writing. That first rendering of “Tokyo” above is in kanji, with the hiragana version next, and the katakana one at the bottom. There’s actually a fairly logical, slightly lengthy explanation for using all three, so pour yourself a cup of green tea and read all about it…


This entry was posted in 400 Language and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *